into the home port

Notes From Lee – Log Date: June 13, 2007

The home port seems strange even to the man who has called this home. The darkness combined with the fog covers, and masks, and changes everything. Some lights that are right in front of us seem far off in the distance and some cannot be seen at all. As we are drawn into the port of Callao and all comes into focus, Jose’s anxiety starts to settle into joy, for the prodigal son has now returned home. We picked a mooring for the balance of the night and will report our arrival to the authorities in the morning.

Jose and Sheila’s tenth wedding anniversary is the 14th of June and so the timing was crucial. By noon the reunion was experienced and I don’t think Sheila had any plans of releasing Jose from her loving embrace (hey guys, remember me, its Lee here).

Jose and Sheila’s condo is just a short walk through the streets of La Punta from the Navy yacht club where The Sea Of Tranquility has earned its right to live out its life of easy sails in this beautiful large bay. In the next few days, arrangements will be made to remove all the signs of the epic voyage which Jose calls,”a three thousand mile trip in nothing more than a nut shell.” Oh, sure. NOW he tells me the real truth!

I will be taking a few days to do some sightseeing in Peru and will post entries of my on land adventures as they unfold for me.

Lee On Solid Ground

2 Responses to into the home port

  1. Dennis & Chris says:

    Hello Lee!
    What about poor Lee?….Fret not my boy….I am sure there are waiting arms to embrace you as well….none that Jose will get to have or even see. You truly have made this a beautiful experience for many….thanks to all Jose, Sheila, Sherry and of course you too Lee for keeping us informed every step of the way….hope you enjoyed it as much as we have…we of course took the safer route. HA!HA! Can’t wait to hear more and see pictures. God’s Peace and Blessings. Love, Dennis & Chris

  2. Cathy - Sherry's Sister says:

    Hey Lee!!!!!
    I have been reading of your adventures and I must say, I am very impressed with the ease with which you and Jose have navigated the waters. The chronical has been amazing, thanks to you and Sherry and Jose and Sheila. I am excited to see photos and hear more about your trip, with great detail which I am sure I will this summer. I finally figured out, on my own, how to submit a comment so that I can be listed on your bloggers map with a dot on Mobile, Alabama. Have a safe trip back to Mainland USA!!! Hope to see you soon!!!!! Cathy

Leave a comment